Feature Friday: Nora Swimwear

DSC_0988DSC_0214DSC_0223DSC_0827DSC_0234

1.) Where are you from originally and where are you located now?
I was born in Bermuda but most of my memories were made in Fredericton where I went to FHS, and then did my undergrad at UNB. I moved to London, England in January of this year!

2.) Why did you chose the name “Nora Swimwear” for your brand? (Was it named after someone?)
The name Nora actually wasn’t always the intended name of the brand. Over christmas break, I was sketching some designs and I was naming each of them. I named the marble bikini ‘nora’ originally and fell in love with it. I decided to look into what nora meant and it turns out it means ‘light’ and ‘honour’ which ended up being pretty central to the theme of the swimwear’s brand. Nora is all about making girls feel like that ‘woman of honour’ in which they can empower other women- while looking awesome!

3.) Where do you see Nora Swim going next? 
Things are pretty hectic right now. Its a learning process, but as of right now the website is being worked on, and the look- book shoot is planned to happen in MTL with my good friend Nat Carson as the photographer. Everything is a go for the big launch, which is happening May 21st online and pop- up at Shop Tilleul in Fredericton which I am SO excited for! Fredericton is very close to my heart, so it was easy for me to decide that is where I wanted to launch at my good friend Katie Boyce’s new store. Plus it goes live online the same day too!

4.) Where do you pull inspiration from?
I’ve always been a huge fan of swimwear. My friends always thought I was a bit crazy when I’d spend $120 on a bikini, but to me it was always worth it. Being born in Bermuda, I was naturally programmed to like warm weather. Throughout my undergrad, I saved all my (pennies) to make sure I could get down south with every chance I had. I pull inspiration from a lot of trends in textiles, fashion, and places like California, Bali, and the Mediterranean.

Inspiration is also taken from the movement where people are increasingly taking care of their health and their bodies. I think its great that people want to show off a little, and be proud of what they’ve accomplished. I also am constantly pulling inspiration from bloggers like Barefoot Blonde, WeWoreWhat, Cara Loren, and Emily Luciano. So many of the styles they post about can be transformed into swimwear.

5.) Describe your brand below in a few short sentences.
Nora Swimwear is all about making women feel and look good. Taking inspiration from beach culture and the beaches of Bali, California and the Mediterranean, Nora Swimwear is comfortable and can serve as statement pieces. Ultimately, Nora Swimwear’s aim is to connect women around the world in positivity and empowerment.

6.) What makes your swimwear brand different from others?
I think Nora Swimwear is different from other swimwear brands because it pulls many trends into one. The designs are fitted, comfortable, and are suitable for a wide range of body types. A portion of the profits will also be going to an organisation that provides micro loans to women in under- developed countries, which ties in with the meaning behind nora swimwear to empower other women.

Ashley Lemmon

Linkedin
Instagram 

Leave a Reply

