Getting Ready for Atlantic Fashion Week

Purple and Pink Silk Yardage
Being a Surface Designer kind of puts me in a weird place, especially because I focus more on textiles than digital print.  I don’t fit the graphic designer profile, and I don’t fit the fashion designer profile (also, can I just take this opportunity to say that a fashion designer is NOT just someone who can sew!!!  There is a lot more talent and skill involved in creating a garment and making an original pattern than buying one and making something that has already been designed by someone else.  Rant over).

This fall, a model who I have worked with before (Athenais Testi), suggested that I put my silk into Atlantic Fashion Week.  I thought she was crazy!  I don’t sew!  I had nothing ready.  Athenais encouraged me to do it anyway and said the models could walk down the runway draped in my silk.  The more I thought about it, the more I loved the idea!  So this year, for the first time ever, I will be participating in Atlantic Fashion Week.
Blue Silk YardageRecently I have learned: even though something might not turn out the way I had it in my head or might not be as glamorous as I pictured, that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t do it!  Creating new things and dying fabric is what I love.  Even if I am not at the point where I want to be, that doesn’t mean I should sit around and wait until I have things figured out.  You have to start somewhere.

Green Silk Yardage
My line, this year, will feature colours that are forecasted for Sping/Summer 2016.  I am more than excited about the colours that we will see this coming season!  Pale pinks and neutrals look like they are still going to be popular. Lime green, magenta, aqua, and BLACK (my favourite) also look like they will have a strong presence this year.

“You don’t have to be great to get started, but you have to get started to be great.” – Les Brown

D.W.

Leave a Reply

