SEVEN

BTS hair set up for
BTS hair set up for “Sloth”.

I am writing this blog post after completing our first photo shoot for “SEVEN.”  SEVEN is a project featuring (at this point) ten different local artists. Involved in the project are: fiber artists, surface designers, hairstylists, photographers, models, MUA and more.

“SEVEN” was an idea I came up with when, one night, I started to get really envious of other people who were making their dreams come true and really “making it” in terms of their craft. I didn’t just want to sit in my living room feeling jealous, so I decided I would make a piece on jealousy and envy as a productive outlet. Then I started getting more and more ideas and thought, “hey, why don’t I do a series on the seven deadly sins (pride, envy, wrath, gluttony, sloth, lust, greed)!?” I messaged one of my favourite local Photographers, Lance Kenneth Blakney, right away and told him about my idea. He was totally onboard and as enthusiastic as I was.

11951320_10153260764094247_4168749079823607787_n
Lance shooting our first “Sin” at Odell park.

So tonight, after months of planning and nagging, I mean organizing, we finally had our first shoot at Odell Park.  The location was perfect. It had that dark and erie, “once upon a time” feel I was imagining.  Our model, Athenais Testi, was professional as always.  We shot for, I don’t know, maybe an hour or so?  However, we probably didn’t need to. I think we got the shot in the first 15 minutes.  Adrienne Goodine who I have mentioned in previous posts, made our dress for this shoot out of my hand dyed fabric.  (There will be more about her and our dress in my blog post this Sunday.)

Tonight, unlike other nights after a photo shoot, I am not filled with excitement and joy like I usually am.  This was really bothering me on my drive home. So I thought more about it and realized, we have six more shoots to finish.  One for each sin.  Needless to say, we aren’t finished yet.  I am not excited and on a natural high yet because there is still so much work to be done.  Now that I have come to this realization, I am kind of getting excited again!

I am also PUMPED to announce that we are going to be featured in a local gallery (Dec.10th – Jan.19th at NBCCD) where our dresses, as well as Lance’s photography will be on display.  I will keep you all posted on our progress and of course invite you to the opening night of our show closer to the event! 😉

“Fall seven times, stand up eight.” – Japanese Proverb

D.W

5 thoughts on “SEVEN

Leave a Reply

