In Pursuit of The Perfect Harvest

The Harvest Jazz and Blues Festival, is the one time of the year that Fredericton actually comes to life.  Like any harvest, some are more bountiful than others. This year tomatoes were particularly good according to my Uncle Peter (a farmer in Northern New Brunswick).  The Harvest Jazz and Blues Festival can be the same way.  Most harvests come with rain and/or cold weather. However, this year it provided over sized poutines from friendly food trucks, rich arts and culture and a heat wave that I can never remember having before during this time of year (side note: I had on a faux leather jacket that stuck to my arms like Ross’ leather pants. Thankfully I learned from FRIENDS that baby powder and lotion do not work and once I managed to squeeze my arms out of the coat, I did not attempt to put it back on).

As I walked up and down Queen Street with my BF Paige on Thursday night, we took in the usual sights and sounds.  Buskers dancing with fire, beatboxers making so many sounds at once it was hard to believe it wasn’t a recording and alas, the fashion.  Now, Im not talking about the “all walks of life” type of fashion that comes out at Harvest.  You know what I mean. Anything from kakis and polos (BORING!) to rainbow coloured, hemp sweaters. I’m talking about new, trendy local vendors…

In Pursuit Mobile Boutique
In Pursuit Mobile Boutique

When I first spotted the pink truck, I knew it was going to be a good.  In Pursuit is a mobile boutique based out of St. John  (I apologize for all of you that already knew that such a cool thing existed.  Apparently I am behind the times).  As my friend Paige and I passed through the chalkboard doors and into pink bliss, I became more and more excited.  The truck was stocked full of big chunky fall sweaters, graphic tanks and my personal favourite… bracelets with, um… words on them.

My favourite find at In Pursuit.
My favourite find at In Pursuit.

In Pursuit is THE STORE for millennials.  Just like their website says, it is “built for lady bosses, go-getters and rockstar girlie girls who know a good thing when they see one.”  With quotes about wanderlust and not having enough coffee in the morning littering the boutique, I felt right at home.

Experiencing this boutique made me even more excited about being creative and hopefully one day being a local business owner.  Experiencing this boutique at Harvest and talking to my Uncle Peter reminded me just how much hard work it takes to be successful.  It’s not all about an idea, it’s about making that idea a reality by nurturing and caring for it.  Hopefully one day, I will have a good crop of tomatoes too:)

“It’s like the seed put in the soil – the more one sows, the greater the harvest.” – Orison Swett Marden

D.W.

Leave a Reply

